“Don’t insist on English”

Longtime English teacher in Dubai Patricia Ryan discusses her perspective in a TED talk on language death and the question:

Is the world’s focus on English preventing the spread of great ideas in other languages?  

This is a significant question with which English language teachers must grapple.  What are your thoughts on her perspective?


One thought on ““Don’t insist on English”

  1. Thanks for this awesome sharing.I can honestly say that I sometimes ignore my mother tongue and make many mistakes when it comes to using it:( I can express myself freely in English language but my mother tongue is Turkish .I do agree with Patricia’s ideas on English being a global language but sometimes it is a barrier for speakersof other languages.Regards,
    Buket.

Leave a comment